The John Tower Group  consists of Mike Colbourn (guitar and vocals), Arty LaVigne
(guitar and vocals),  Mark Christensen (bass and Chapman Stick™ - a 12-stringed
instrument played by tapping the strings), and Zak LaVigne (drums).  

The group's new CD "Good Sad Story" was recorded at Eagan Media in Colchester
Vermont throughout the summer, fall and winter of 2004/2005, with engineer Aaron
Flynn and was produced by Mark Christensen.  The nine songs on Good Sad Story truly
capture the band in an “almost live” studio setting.

The Burlington Vermont based group has been performing for the past 12 years in and
around Vermont and New England.  In 2001 the band released their debut full length CD
"Not From Here”.  The JTG has also appeared on two of the “Best of the Green Mountain
Blues” series, volumes one and four.

The JTG offers up a mix of jam based rock and blues with a little alt-country on the side.   

The band has previously opened or appeared with Dickey Betts and Great Southern, Joe
Bonomossa, Ian Moore, Johnny Winter, Buddy Guy, Jeff Healy, John Mayall, Cory
Stevens, Pork Tornado (feat. Jon Fishman from Phish), Jim Cuddy Band (of Blue Rodeo),
Eric Gales and has played various regional music festivals and club dates.  
The John Tower Group -
Good Sad Story

Mike Colbourn - lead guitar, vocals

Arty LaVigne - rhythm guitar, vocals

Mark Christensen - bass, Chapman Stick,
lap steel, organ and background vocals

Zack LaVigne - drums
Trace (excerpt)
Fixin' to Storm '06 (excerpt)

“'Good Sad Story' is a great album.  (I)t’s obvious that this
band has much more appeal than simply being a blues outfit.  
The band is unique in that many of the intonations — while
blues-based — sound more indie rock than they do classic blues.
Don’t look for Robert Johnson on this one, for this is
Southern, gritty blues.

And that’s what makes this album good. It’s not a one-trick
pony. “Fixin’ to Storm ’06” is more like a Pearl Jam song than
Lynyrd Skynyrd and the influence of Neil Young prevails
throughout. "
  - Mike Schaefer, The Stowe Reporter
$ 10.00 (includes shipping)